Full screen zoom

<< Previous page

Piero Fornasetti Porcelain Nobel Peace Prize Plate, 1974.

Piero Fornasetti Porcelain Nobel Peace Prize Plate,


The rare plate is decorated with a central roundel of Alfred Nobel in the center and then the various winner for 1975 Harry Martinson, Sir Martin Ryle, Albert Claude, Eisaku Sato, Paul J. Flory, Christian de Duve, Eyvind Johnson, Anthony Hewish, George E. Palade, Sean MacBride.

Diameter: 10 inches.

Harry Martinson was awarded a joint Nobel Prize in Literature in 1974 together with fellow Swede Eyvind Johnson "for writings that catch the dewdrop and reflect the cosmos".

Sir Martin Ryle and Antony Hewish shared the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1974, the first Nobel prize awarded in recognition of astronomical research.

Albert Claude was a Belgian medical doctor and cell biologist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1974 with Christian de Duve and George Emil Palade.

Sean MacBride received the Nobel Peace Prize.

Paul J. Flory was a leading pioneer in understanding the behavior of polymers in solution, and won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1974 "for his fundamental achievements, both theoretical and experimental, in the physical chemistry of macromolecules".

Eisaku Sato was the second longest serving PM in Japanese history and the first Prime Minister to have been born in the 20th century. He is also the only Japanese laureate of the Nobel Peace Prize. During the prime ministership of Sato, Japan entered the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. The Diet passed a resolution formally adopting the principles in 1971. For this he received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1974.

If you would like to see the retail price of this item, please register with us.


Send the image and details to a friend:
Your Name:
Friend's Email: